RobertD’s Blog in the Year Dot

antique_typewriter

Well, a few people have been encouraging me to get a blog going for some time now. So I’ve finally taken the plunge and fired one up.

Over the last two and a half years I’ve been contributing regularly to a forum called “PESFan”. Nominally, it was a website set up in support of a football video game, but since expanded to incorporate pretty much any topic under the sun. Participating in the forum rekindled a long dormant interest I’d had with writing, and unleashed a torrent of long held but rarely expressed ideas, notions and opinions.  I’m beginning to feel, however, that I’ve reached the point where the things I want to write about and the format in which I want to write about them has rather outgrown the strictures of an internet bulletin board.  At the same time, I’ve grown accustomed to having a regular outlet for my ideas and opinions – to the point where writing about them is now a regular part of my daily routine.

Like pretty much everybody else in the vast online community, I like to have a forum where my voice can be heard.

So, from now on, this blog will be that forum. I still haven’t settled on exactly what will and won’t be considered suitable content. So for now I’ll just be writing about whatever it comes into my head to write about. There’ll be reviews of music, movies, books and video games. But I also have an interest in politics, current events and football, and I’ll be commenting on those areas too.

Why the title? Well, the Grand Inquisitor is a famous chapter in one of the great novels of my favourite writer, Fyodor Dostoevsky. It’s a title, I feel, that has a rather striking quality to it. But I also like this definition of the word “inquisitor”, from the Webster’s Dictionary:

“An inquisitive person; one fond of asking questions.”

That’s what this blog will be all about. Finding out about stuff that strikes me as being topical or interesting. Hopefully I can get something of an audience together here, but looking at the proliferation of blogs choking up the internet like Martian red weed these days, it ‘aint gonna’ be particularly easy.

Leave a Reply

